Music Brochure Contents

The Cal Poly Symphony …

Members of Symphony and Conductor
  • Is a full Symphony Orchestra of 80-90 players: strings, woodwinds, brass and percussion
  • Includes students from almost every major—75% are from majors other than Music
  • Performs one or two major concerts each quarter on the main stage of the Performing Arts Center
  • Goes on tours. We performed in the Kennedy Center, Washington, D.C., in 2012; and in Central Europe in June 2016
  • Provides subsidized lessons to members
  • Has instruments available for check-out to members
  • Is a class: MU 174/374

Works Recently Performed

    • Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5
    • Rimsky-Korsakov: "Scheherazade"
    • Music from video games ("Angry Birds," "Battlefield 2" and more)
    • Marquez: Danzon No. 2
    • Mussorgksy/Ravel: "Pictures at an Exhibition"
    • Orff: "Carmina Burana" (with Cal Poly Choirs)
    • Hagen: "Triple Concerto" (West Coast premiere, with the Amelia Piano Trio)
    • Music from the movies ("Jurassic Park," "Psycho" and more)


    • Tuesdays and Thursdays during the quarter, 4:40 - 6:30 p.m.
      Room 216 of the Davidson Music Center (building 45)

How Do I Join?

    • Auditions take place during the first week of classes. Over the summer, sign up to audition on the Symphony website. You can also come to the Davidson Music Center during the Week of Welcome or during the first few days of classes in the fall to sign up for a time. Sign-up sheets will be posted across from rehearsal room 216 on the instrumental music bulletin board.
    • Sign up for a time (10 minutes) and bring a prepared piece (or pieces) of your choice. Choose music that shows you at your best, not necessarily the most difficult piece you know. You should choose a short section that is fast/technical, and a short section that is slow/lyrical, to give the conductor an idea of your playing.


David ArrivéeEnsemble Director
David Arrivée
Email Dr. Arrivée
Office phone: 805-756-2358
Office location: Davidson Music Center, building 45, room 128
Symphony Web page